The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.
4 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.
Bute Street, Luton
The Stage
Construction combines apartments, a performance venue, commercial space and a public garden.
Construction began March 2026 · evidence dated 2026-03-05
Responsible body: Luton Borough Council
What the source says: The planned 292 apartments include 84 affordable rentals. Completion in 2028 is a forecast.
Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named project location only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; proximity does not establish a ward-wide benefit.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
The Stage construction begins →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Turn The Stage investment into occupied homes and activity →
Manage disruption across major town-centre sites →
Make room for homes people can afford →
Connect local skills to local opportunities →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →Luton town centre
Hat Gardens
A waterside pocket park provides public space and an event setting.
Opened in 2023; operating space · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Luton Borough Council
What the source says: Opening is reported separately from larger developments still underway.
Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named project location only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; proximity does not establish a ward-wide benefit.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Town-centre projects and completed spaces →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Keep Hat Gardens useful through the year →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →Power Court, Luton
Power Court stadium
A new stadium is part of the wider town-centre redevelopment.
Planning approved in 2024; works reported underway March 2026 · evidence dated 2026-03-05
Responsible body: Luton Town development partners and council
What the source says: The Stage announcement reports work underway; it does not establish the stadium’s completion date.
Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named project location only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; proximity does not establish a ward-wide benefit.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
The Stage construction begins →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Manage disruption across major town-centre sites →
Connect local skills to local opportunities →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →Across Luton
Find Your Own Home
The council offers assessed assistance towards securing a private tenancy.
Operating housing support scheme · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Luton Borough Council
What the source says: Eligibility and financial assessment apply; support is not an automatic award.
Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named project location only. No official impact boundary has been matched to current wards; proximity does not establish a ward-wide benefit.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Find Your Own Home scheme →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Offer realistic housing choices during long waits →
Make room for homes people can afford →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →