Skip to content
Luton Counts — Luton, in numbers.Local help →

Luton, in numbers

People and living standards

Luton council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Luton council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 173,655 in 1991 to 236,380 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Luton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 181,577 people in 1996; 236,380 people in 2025. 30.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Luton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991173,655
1992175,851
1993178,636
1994180,820
1995181,387
1996181,577
1997182,158
1998184,264
1999184,990
2000185,491
2001185,889
2002185,631
2003185,016
2004183,563
2005185,392
2006187,312
2007189,742
2008192,084
2009195,449
2010199,583
2011203,641
2012205,873
2013209,624
2014213,749
2015217,612
2016220,952
2017220,752
2018221,532
2019223,106
2020224,132
2021224,958
2022227,839
2023233,813
2024238,047
2025236,380
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Luton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 45,116 people in 1996; 53,124 people in 2025. 17.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Luton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199142,059
199243,181
199344,192
199445,089
199545,230
199645,116
199744,889
199845,028
199944,795
200044,064
200143,300
200242,873
200342,590
200442,016
200542,378
200642,678
200743,347
200844,484
200945,414
201046,092
201146,835
201247,669
201348,736
201449,978
201551,454
201652,445
201752,787
201852,862
201952,804
202052,997
202152,417
202252,510
202353,012
202453,836
202553,124
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Luton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 115,876 people in 1996; 155,546 people in 2025. 34.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Luton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991112,084
1992113,016
1993114,546
1994115,561
1995115,796
1996115,876
1997116,480
1998118,181
1999118,836
2000119,716
2001120,391
2002120,290
2003119,654
2004118,670
2005119,981
2006121,569
2007123,296
2008124,363
2009126,571
2010129,755
2011132,812
2012133,789
2013136,076
2014138,535
2015140,713
2016142,832
2017142,126
2018142,659
2019144,092
2020144,933
2021146,097
2022148,658
2023153,942
2024156,965
2025155,546
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Luton council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,585 people in 1996; 27,710 people in 2025. 34.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Luton council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,512
199219,654
199319,898
199420,170
199520,361
199620,585
199720,789
199821,055
199921,359
200021,711
200122,198
200222,468
200322,772
200422,877
200523,033
200623,065
200723,099
200823,237
200923,464
201023,736
201123,994
201224,415
201324,812
201425,236
201525,445
201625,675
201725,839
201826,011
201926,210
202026,202
202126,444
202226,671
202326,859
202427,246
202527,710
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 225,261 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Luton · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh83,32537%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African22,73510.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups9,6204.3%
White101,79845.2%
Other ethnic group7,7833.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 203,201 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Luton · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White111,07954.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups8,2814.1%
Asian/Asian British60,95230%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British19,9099.8%
Other ethnic group2,9801.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 184,371 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Luton · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White132,56671.9%
Mixed4,7282.6%
Asian/Asian British33,67718.3%
Black/Black British11,6846.3%
Chinese/Other1,7160.9%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 24.5% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Luton council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,239 per person in 1997; £19,612 per person in 2024. 112.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Luton council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,239
19988,894
19999,403
20009,908
200110,539
200210,847
200311,266
200411,568
200511,753
200611,908
200712,332
200812,525
200912,668
201012,874
201112,993
201213,273
201313,415
201413,777
201514,285
201614,942
201715,721
201816,072
201916,601
202016,826
202117,277
202218,124
202318,787
202419,612
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Luton council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -12.9% in 1997; -24.5% in 2024. 11.6 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Luton council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-12.9
1998-17.9
1999-16.9
2000-16.8
2001-14.8
2002-14.3
2003-13.6
2004-14.8
2005-16.4
2006-18.7
2007-19.6
2008-20.5
2009-20.9
2010-20.3
2011-20.3
2012-21.4
2013-23.4
2014-23.8
2015-24.9
2016-22.4
2017-20.2
2018-21.3
2019-21.2
2020-19.8
2021-20.9
2022-21.1
2023-23.2
2024-24.5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

57.2%

21 March 2021 · Luton council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

22.3%

21 March 2021 · Luton council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

22.9%

21 March 2021 · Luton council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.7%

21 March 2021 · Luton council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£285,000

July 2026 · Luton council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,222

August 2026 · Luton council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.